self help websites and support communities

self help websites

Anna Freud Centre

www.annafreud.org/on-my-mind/self-care/

A really useful and interactive page of resources geared towards young people.

CCI, Centre for Clinical Interventions

www.cci.health.wa.gov.au/Resources/Looking-After-Yourself

Another website used often by therapists to give self-help and psychoe- ducation information to clients.

Esther Perel

estherperel.com/blog/how-to-find-the-right-therapist-for-you

Every Mind Matters

www.nhs.uk/oneyou/every-mind-matters

Get Self-Help

www.getselfhelp.co.uk/about.htm

A favourite of many CBT therapists, this website was set up and is man- aged by CBT therapist Carol Vivyan.

Local Libraries

www.gov.uk/local-library-services

Local libraries have self-help books available as well as information about local groups that you can join.

MIND

www.mindcharity.co.uk/advice-information/

how-to-look-after-your-mental-health/online-resources/

Distraction Apps

www.mind.org.uk/need-urgent-help/how-can-i-distract-myself/ videos-websites-and-apps/

Mindfulness

The Free Mindfulness Project – www.freemindfulness.org

Lots of free mindfulness exercises to download for free, plus mindfulness apps and a discussion forum.

NHS

www.nhs.uk/conditions/stress-anxiety-depression/self-help-therapies www.nhs.uk/conditions

NHS  leaflets  about  different  mental  health  conditions  – web.ntw.nhs.uk/selfhelp

Overcoming

overcoming.co.uk/709/Overcoming-Apps

Self-assessment, self-help and apps from the respected ‘Overcoming’ series.

Psychology Tools

www.psychologytools.com

A very handy resource for therapists and clients for information about different issues we can have with our mental health and info sheets on how to manage.

SAMH, Scottish Association for Mental Health

www.samh.org.uk/about-mental-health/self-help-and-wellbeing

This page of self-help resources has a questionnaire you can answer to get your ‘wellbeing score’.

Self-Help Services

www.selfhelpservices.org.uk/about-us

A user-led charity providing lots of self-help resources.

Students Against Depression

www.studentsagainstdepression.org/self-help

Trauma

istss.org/public-resources/trauma-basics

The International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS) has some helpful info on trauma and PTSD.

The Wellness Society

thewellnesssociety.org/about

Aims to bridge the gap between private therapy and waiting for NHS services by providing self-help tools and information.


mental health apps

ACT Coach – mobile.va.gov/app/act-coach

Developed by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, this app is a good introduction to the principles of the ACT approach.

Action for Happiness – www.actionforhappiness.org/app

Babylon – www.babylonhealth.com/download-app

Speak to a doctor about any health issue.

Beat Panic – www.nhs.uk/apps-library/beat-panic Be Mindful – www.bemindfulonline.com

BiaMother – biamother.com

App for new mothers.

Buddhify – buddhify.com

A mindfulness meditation app with lots of different options for different age groups.

CALM App – www.calm.com

A longstanding mindfulness app.

CBT Thought Diary App – www.cbtthoughtdiary.com Catch It – www.nhs.uk/apps-library/catch-it

Chill Panda – www.nhs.uk/apps-library/chill-panda COVE – www.cove-app.com

Daylio – daylio.net

A daily journal and mood tracker app.

Fear Tools – www.feartools.com

An app based around CBT principles for reducing fear and anxiety.

Free Mindfulness Apps – www.freemindfulness.org/apps

Happify – www.happify.com

An app that gives you a ‘happiness score’ and lets you plot your moods and thoughts and work towards changing habits and patterns that are not working for you any more.

Headspace – www.headspace.com/

The original mindfulness and mediation app that has been around since 2010.

Insight Timer App – insighttimer.com

An app that has a large amount of different types of meditations for you to try to help with stress, sleep problems and anxiety.

MIND

List of apps for wellbeing: www.mindcharity.co.uk/ advice-information/how-to-look-after-your-mental-health/

apps-for-wellbeing-and-mental-health/

MoodFit – www.getmoodfit.com

A well-set-out all-round app.

Moodflow – www.moodflow.co

An app that tracks your mood and gives you a clear visual on what certain periods of the year have been like for you and which days were worse or better.

MoodMission – moodmission.com

An app whose founders have carried out peer-reviewed research and a randomized controlled trial into the app’s effectiveness.

NHS Recommended Apps – www.nhs.uk/oneyou/apps/

Overcoming – overcoming.co.uk/709/App

The ‘Overcoming’ range has apps for anxiety, depression and self-esteem.

Samaritans Self-Help App – selfhelp.samaritans.org

Sleepio – onboarding.sleepio.com/sleepio/nhs/77#1/1

A respected sleep app.

Shine – www.theshineapp.com/get-started

An app for Black, Indigenous and People of Colour.

Stressheads – www.themix.org.uk/apps-and-tools/stressheads

An app for young people by The Mix.

Thrive (NHS) – www.nhs.uk/apps-library/thrive TOMO – hellotomo.co.uk

Worry Tree – www.nhs.uk/apps-library/worrytree

WYSA – www.wysa.io

For teenagers.


communities: online and offline

online

Abuse

Adults survivors of child abuse: www.havoca.org/resources/forum www.isurvive.org/forum pandys.org

nexusni.org

Anxiety

Anxious Minds – www.anxiousminds.co.uk – has an online community and Facebook group that you can join wherever you are in the UK. DARE – dareresponse.com/community/ – set up by Barry McDonagh, author of the book DARE. The website has links to his book, App, and a Facebook community.

Triumph Over Phobia – www.topuk.org/top-uk-groups

Autism, Aspergers and Neurodiversity:

wrongplanet.net/forums/ www.autism.org.uk/what-we-do/community

Bipolar

Bipolar UK – www.bipolaruk.org/ecommunity

Body Dysmorphic Disorder

www.bddandme.co.uk

Brain InjuryHeadway – www.headway.org.uk/supporting-you/online-communities

Children and Young People

Childline – www.childline.org.uk/get-support/message-boards/ Kooth – kooth.com

The Mix – www.themix.org.uk/get-support/group-chat

Depression

depressionuk.org

Divorce

Support Group – divorcesupportgroup.co.uk/divorce-support-groups

Drugs

Families Anonymous – famanon.org.uk/meetings/online-meetings/

The Withdrawal Project – withdrawal.theinnercompass.org/page/ twp-connect

Eating Disorders

support.beateatingdisorders.org.uk/app/social/home/

Family and Relationships

Families Need Fathers –

fnf.org.uk/help-and-support-2/fnf-online-forum

Family Lives – www.familylives.org.uk/how-we-can-help/ forum-community/?_ga=2.51933609.1457503942.1600701834- 163298806.1600701834

Gambling

Gamblers Anonymous – www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk/forum GamCare – www.gamcare.org.uk/get-support/group-chatroom

General Help7 Cups – www.7cups.com Befrienders – www.befrienders.org

Mental Health Forum – www.mentalhealthforum.net/about-us Mindfulness – www.freemindfulness.org/discussion-forums

Therapy Friends – sidebyside.mind.org.uk/about (formerly ‘Elefriends’) and Therapyfriends.co.uk

Hearing Voices Network –

www.hearing-voices.org/hearing-voices-groups/

Hoarding

Help for Hoarders – www.helpforhoarders.co.uk/forum

Men

Mentell – www.mentell.org.uk

An online community for men 18+ to talk.

OCD

OCD Action – www.ocdaction.org.uk/support-groups OCD UK – www.ocduk.org/support-groups/

Peer Support Online

www.safelyheldspaces.org/about

Post-Natal Depression

pandasfoundation.org.uk/how-we-can-support-you/ social-media-and-facebook-groups/

Self Harm

Self Harm UK – www.selfharm.co.uk/alumina/signup

Spiritual

Spiritual Crisis Network –

www.meetup.com/Spiritual-Crisis-Network-Community-Forum/

Transgender

Beaumont Society–

www.beaumontsociety.org.uk/online-support-groups.html

Trauma

ACES Too High Online Community – www.acesconnection.com/


offline

Mens Sheds Association – menssheds.org.uk/about/#who-we-are MIND – Social Spaces – www.mindcharity.co.uk/social-spaces Park Run – www.parkrun.org.uk

Walking for health – www.walkingforhealth.org.uk/get-walking/why-walk/ healthy-minds

Wave – www.waveproject.co.uk/about-us